CLOSE

You may know Dolly Parton, but do you know these facts about her?

Knoxville News Sentinel

OK, who wouldn’t want a bedtime story from Dolly Parton

The beloved pop culture icon announced Monday plans for “Goodnight With Dolly,” a weekly web series where she’ll read a bedtime story. Parton will read stories, pulled from her international book donation program Imagination Library, each Thursday at 8 EDT for the next 10 weeks, according to a news release from Dollywood and film distributor Abramorama. 

Viewers can catch “Goodnight With Dolly” on YouTube, Instagram, Facebook or Twitter. She’ll read books “specifically chosen for their appropriate content at this unique time.”  

“This is something I have been wanting to do for quite a while, but the timing never felt quite right,” Parton said. “I think it is pretty clear that now is the time to share a story and to share some love.

Autoplay

Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Titles to be read include Loren Long’s “There’s a Hole in the Log on the Bottom of the Lake,” “Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon” by Patty Lovell and Parton’s own “I Am a Rainbow.” 

Dollywood and Abramorama also confirmed Monday that “The Library That Dolly Built,” a documentary chronicling the global impact of Imagination Library, now debuts in September. The film previously planned to release in April. 

Launched nearly 25 years ago, Parton’s Imagination Library gifts books to an estimated 1.5 million children each month. 

LeVar Burton is reading to fans, too

“Star Trek” star LeVar Burton announced his own series “LeVar Burton Reads” will be live-streamed from his Twitter account @levarburton during the coronavirus pandemic. The series starts for adults April 3 (9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT) with a short story by Neil Gaiman, continuing each week.

Monday, April 6 (12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT) features morning reading for children, with subsequent Wednesday readings bofor young adults (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT).

Autoplay

Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Read or Share this story: https://www.usatoday.com/story/entertainment/music/2020/03/31/dolly-parton-goodnight-with-dolly-bedtime-stories/5101026002/